Boateng named OUA’s J.P. Metras Award recipient

BURLINGTON, ON – Wilfrid Laurier men’s football player Kwaku Boateng was named the recipient of the J.P. Metras Award by the OUA on Thursday morning as the conference announced its major award winners at a ceremony at the Holiday Inn Burlington.

Boateng, a defensive lineman from Milton, Ont., is the eighth Golden Hawk to be named the OUA J.P. Metras Award recipient and the first since offensive lineman Scott Evans won the award back in 2007.

In just his third season in the league, Boateng was a force to be reckoned with for the Hawks, as the 6-foot-2, 240 lbs. defensive end finished the year with 18 tackles.  However, with nine of those tackles coming behind the line of scrimmage, 50 percent of the time Boateng was driving the opposition backwards.  Boateng also led the Golden Hawks and finished eighth in OUA with four sacks in eight games while also recording one pass breakup.

Boateng continued his great season into the playoffs where he anchored a strong defensive effort by the purple and gold in their run to the semifinals. He would wind up finishing his postseason with 8.5 tackles, three sacks, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Off the field, the third-year business major is a two-time CIS Academic All-Canadian and was named an OUA first team all-star this season for the first time in his career.


Most Valuable Player – Will Finch – Western
President’s Trophy (Outstanding Stand-up Defensive Player) – John Rush – Guelph
J.P. Metras Trophy (Lineman of the Year) – Kwaku Boateng – Laurier
Norm Marshall Trophy (Rookie of the Year) – Jesse Amankwaa – York
Dave ‘Tuffy’ Knight Award (Coach of the Year) – Greg Marshall – Western
Russ Jackson Nominee – Curtis Carmichael – Queen’s
Volunteer Coach of the Year – Tom Norwell – York
Officials Award of Merit – Kevin Horton

Leave a Reply